top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteve Potter


Phillies Press Release:


Phillies Special Assignment Scout Dean Albany has been selected as the 2023 recipient of the Dallas Green Award, the club announced today.


Albany joined the Phillies following the 2020 season after spending 20 years in the scouting department of the Baltimore Orioles. He began his career as an area scout for seven years before becoming a Mid-Atlantic crosschecker for five years and eventually a special assignment scout in 2012.


“I had the privilege to meet Dallas Green several years ago while scouting an amateur game,” Albany said. “His wealth of knowledge about the game of baseball was remarkable.  It’s such an honor to receive this award when there are so many worthy candidates. Working for the Philadelphia Phillies on this amazing run has been a dream come true.”


The 2023 Dallas Green Award will be presented on the field on Tuesday, Sept. 26, prior to the 6:40 against the Pittsburgh Pirates. The award was established in 2011 to honor the accomplishments of Green, who spent 62 years in professional baseball, 46 of which were with the Phillies. Green passed away in March 2017 at the age of 82.


The award is presented annually to an amateur or professional scout who best exemplifies the Phillies’ standard for scouting while demonstrating the same loyalty, work ethic, dedication and passion as the award’s namesake. It is also recognition of the scout’s ability to judge not only a player’s talent, but also his character and heart.


“Dean is known throughout Major League Baseball as one of the most passionate scouts in the entire industry,” said Brian Barber, Phillies director of amateur scouting. “From his time combing amateur baseball to help us find draft picks such as Mick Abel, Andrew Painter, Justin Crawford, Aidan Miller and Orion Kerkering, to his work after the draft on the professional side of the game scouring the minor and major leagues. His desire, work ethic and dedication to help bring quality players to the Phillies is unmatched. Dean is a shining example of what being a scout is all about and I couldn’t be happier to have him receive this award.” 


Past winners of the Dallas Green Award have been Dick Lawlor (2011), Bill Harper (2012), Eddie Bockman (2013), Gordon Lakey (2014), Sal Agostinelli (2015), Roy Tanner (2016), Joey Davis (2017), Jesús “Chalao” Méndez (2018), Mike Stauffer (2019), Darrell Conner (2021) and Zach Friedman (2022). The award was not given in 2020.

89 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page